Seven nations promised to reduce energy dependence on Russia

Leaders of the Group of Seven nations have promised to continue reducing their reliance on Russian energy, “while ensuring that we do so in an orderly fashion and in ways that provide time for the world to secure alternative and sustainable supplies,” according to a joint statement on Friday

The leaders — representing the US, UK, Canada, France, Germany, Italy and Japan — said they “remain resolved to isolate Russia further from our economies and the international financial system.”

To stand with the people of Ukraine, Group of Seven partners are committed to taking more action that will financially isolate Russia, put pressure on Russian President Vladimir Putin and his enablers, the statement read.

The Group of Seven also urged Russia to ensure safe and unhindered humanitarian access to victims of its assault in Ukraine, and to allow safe passage for civilians wishing to leave.

“We call for, and commit to provide, humanitarian, medical and financial support to refugees from Ukraine,” they said in a statement.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: